Our network

Thea announces 2013 Creative Writing Scholarship Winners | Arts & Culture

Title (Max 100 Characters)

Thea announces 2013 Creative Writing Scholarship Winners
Thea announces 2013 Creative Writing Scholarship Winners

The Thea Foundation is pleased to announce the winners of its 3rd annual Creative Writing Scholarship Competition for high school seniors, which were finalized by a panel of qualified judges at the Thea Center on Wednesday, February 13, 2013.  51 participants from across the state submitted short stories with a maximum of 1,000 words based on Thea Kay Leopoulos’s mixed media painting, Liberty (2001).  

The Thea Foundation is honored with the opportunity to award students talented in the writing field.  Thea recognizes the hard work put forth by each participant, and encourage every student to continue to pursue creativity in higher education and beyond.   

The winners of Thea’s 2013 Creative Writing Scholarship Competition are as follows:

First Place - $3,000             Amy Teeter                    Pottsville High School
Second Place - $2,000       Candace Boehm            Lake Hamilton High School, Hot Springs    
Honorable Mention             Cari Beth Halk                Guy-Perkins High School
Honorable Mention             Jackson James              CrossPointe Preparatory School, Searcy
Honorable Mention             Bailey Pickens                North Little Rock High School
Honorable Mention             Anna Shipman                Brookland High School    
Honorable Mention             Katy Smith                      DeQueen High School

The winning entries can be found and read at www.theafoundation.org/2013-creative-writing-scholarship-winners.

For more information on Thea Scholarships, call 501-379-9512 or visit www.theafoundation.org/scholarships.

Little Rock Deals

Little Rock Businesses